Quit is NOT in my dictionary…..

Once when I was in 11th standard, I had malaria. That was the longest time I have fallen sick. And it happened at the wrong time. But was I about to quit due to it? Read on……

I joined Resonance to prepare for IIT-JEE 2007. My sweetest dream, that is now broken in thousands of pieces, but none the less, introduced Me to Myself. At that time, every day was critical. Every hour was important, and there was just one thing on my mind, I need to perform.  But fate had something else for me. And that something was Malaria.

I used to be a person who never took medicines. And for a person like that, taking injections was a big task. And that was what my Mom was afraid of. She knew that if I deny taking medicines, she can’t force me. But I had something else on my mind. I needed to recover, and I needed to do it soon. The only thing was, get well soon, you have a battle to fight.

I hated taking medicines, and Injections were a no-no. There was a storm in my head. I needed to respond and that too, quickly. I decided to change my views about things around me. During my illness, I never denied taking medicines neither said no to injections. When Dad came to inject me for the first time, Mom sat next to me, asked me to face away from it and tried to distract me. But, that wasn’t how it was supposed to be.

When the needle was about to touch my skin, instead of facing away, I stared it hard. And I did it because I believe that if you will anticipate how much more you will be hurt, you will be hurt more. Rather you should stand Eye-to-Eye with your pain and problems, and they will surely give up.

My illness wrecked me. I was very weak. I wasn’t in position to walk without support. One evening, I wanted to go out as I was tired of being bed ridden. I talked about it to my Mom. And she agreed. She took me upstairs where we stayed for almost an hour. I could sense the fresh air clearing my head.

When I was walking, Mom was holding me. She was afraid that I would fall. I was dizzy. Due to some reasons, Mom went down, and asked me to sit at a place and not to try to walk.

While sitting there, I was feeling very depressed, my head was leaning low. It was as if I have lost something, something important. As if I have lost a reason. And that’s when I asked myself, are you ready to quit? Few seconds passed, and I didn’t receive any answers. Then suddenly, something changed.

A thought crossed my mind. A thought that changed my life, and that have been inspiring me for all these years. The thought was: I am Frustrated, But not yet Exhausted. No matter what you will put me through, I will always fight back and will survive.

Even now, whenever I feel like I don’t have it inside me, I remember this incident. And I am filled with lot of positive energy. This is how I became A Person who never quits. This is the reason that I am what I am today. And I hope, I will always be the same. Because, I don’t know how to Quit.

 

About Manish Jain

I'm a wanderer in search of solace which has long eluded me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quit is NOT in my dictionary…..

  1. kianys says:

    Thank you for sharing this – sometimes you need to hear that someone else will not give up to remind yourself of your own strength. Although my battle if no where near yours and I can’t begin to imagine what you are going through, life can frustrate all of us sometimes. Sometimes I forget that it’s bend, not break. Thank you for reminding me! Good Luck – I guess with everything you aspire – be it health, love or any dream – And please continue to write I will be back to read 🙂

    • Logan says:

      Its good to know that I have helped you in reminding you of your own strengths. As you said correctly, It’s bend, not Break. Good Luck to you too, for your battle, cause we all have our own..

      Thanks for Reading and do visit Again.

Leave a Reply

