The Test I will Never Forget……

It was 1st January. But instead of celebrating it, I was sitting there, in a room, giving test of Resonance. (For those who don’t know, Resonance is a Coaching institute where I have done my preparations for IIT-JEE 2007). We were all filled with happiness and excitement. It was a great day. Though at the same time, we were angry on Reso management for keeping a test on First day of the year.

Before our test started, I was having conversation with my group. And there were many people who came and said,”You are going to top this time”. I was praised by almost everyone that day, I don’t know why, but it happened that way. Later, we went to give the exam, and things changed drastically.

Our exam consisted of 3 Objective papers. One and a half hour each. First was Chemistry, then Maths and then Physics. My Chemistry exam went great. During break after the Chem exam, I was talking to my friends and told them that my exam went very nice. I got praised again and everyone said, “We know you are going to top this time.” I started laughing after listening this and also felt proud at the same time.

The next exam was of Maths. I went in. Everyone wished each other luck, and then we settled to give the paper. After almost 45 minutes of exam, I was sitting with nothing to do. It wasn’t that my paper was over, the trouble was, I was knowing nothing. I was feeling low and bad. At that moment Neal saw me. He asked me what happened. I told him that I am not able to solve any questions and it seems that I know nothing. Till that time I had attempted 10 questions only. Neal looked at the sadness at my face and decided to help me. He moved his OMR near me so that I can see the answers and can fill my OMR.

On seeing that Neal was ready to help me, I almost gave up and decided to see the answers from his OMR. But just as I was about to do it, my conscience came into picture. There was just one thing that came to my mind at that moment. “All these people trust you so much, they have faith in you and your abilities. What are you trying to do? By cheating you won’t just embarrass yourself but will also embarrass your friends. I froze. Something weird happened. I asked Neal to take his OMR back.

I dropped my pen, took a good look at everyone who was in the class. I saw Kunal, Neal, Alok, Manoj, Deshant, Vikas. They also saw me and passed a smile. That was it. These were the people with utmost confidence in me, and I was not about to let them down. I decided to relax for a while. I sang my favorite song, Incomplete by Backstreet Boys, silently. As soon as I was done with the song, I was ready to roll. I was full of confidence again and started attempting the questions.

When the exam ended, I attempted total of 45+ questions from 60 questions. And I was sure that I attempted them sincerely . I then gave my Physics exam and went through the regular routine after the exam. Few days later, result of the test came. I topped the test from our Batch. And that wasn’t all, I also topped the Maths test from our batch and my highest score was in Maths itself….

I became the first person to enter top 50 (out of 1600+ students) who belonged to a batch that was lower than B3 (Mine was B5 and the batches were given according to our performance in the previous test). All of my friends and faculties were proud of me. I became so popular that few people from batches above me came to our building to know who I was.

I still remember the feeling I had back then. It was so pure, so nice, I was the star, like a dream come true……I still miss those wonderful days. I miss all my friends I had then. Though I am still in touch with all of them, but now conversations are not as frequent as they used to be. I just wish we all could be together once again…Though its not easy, but I have promised you this, and I don’t know how to break my promises……….

About Manish Jain

I'm a wanderer in search of solace which has long eluded me.
This entry was posted in The Glorified Past and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Test I will Never Forget……

  1. alokjaingaya says:

    How can you enter into a situation of 2006 in 2011 so live? I think I have a tendency to let go what has happened and carry on. I need to learn keeping memories afresh.

    • Logan says:

      Well its good that you don’t. Because when you start keeping memories alive, more often than not, you will remember bad things too, which eventually will hurt you.

      I wish I could let go, but my past is all I have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

