Lavasa!!!

It’s been around 1.5 years since I bought my bike. I’ve been craving a good bike ride since then. Yes, I’ve taken plenty of them, small ones, but in good weather. Memorable ones, with friends, or best friends, still the craving wasn’t satisfied. Something was missing…

Maybe it was the location. I was in Ahmedabad, and there are not many places near Ahmedabad where we could have gone for a bike ride. The closest destination was like 170 KMs, and even though I was always up for the challenge, none of my friends agreed to go down the road with me.

Things have changed though. I’m in Pune now. At a place where I can go to hundreds of places, within 100 KM. And Lavasa was one such destination. 61 KM from where I stay, and it became my first bike ride, on the hills. And it was fun…

It rained heavily on Friday. The temperature dropped a lot as well. It was a bad day I thought. I’ve been sick for almost a week now, and the sudden change in weather was not welcomed by me. However, something changed. As it rained, we planned a bike ride, and everything turned out so beautifully.

We decided to leave at 6 am, so that we will cover most of the distance before the sun will hit the turf. We’re slightly late, but still managed to be on the road by 6.20 am. Reaching Paud road, Jignesh joined us, and we were 6 people, on 3 bikes.

The journey started in a beautiful fashion. The road was dark, and empty. The wind was cold, and there was fog everywhere. I was mostly riding on instincts and by following the tail light of people ahead of me. I was wearing helmet, and soon the glass was covered in fog, creating issues for me to see the road properly. I opened the glass and the cold breeze started blowing on my face. I simply loved it. Cause it sent chills down my body, and it was awesome.

Fog 1 Fog 2

Soon, my spects were covered in dew as well, and I went totally blind. I had to stop, take my spects off. Asked my friend to guide me if he feels I am making any wrong turns. I am able to see without spects, but still, the fog was definitely creating issues for me. Then on we went, and for next 1 km, the weather remained same.

There were some brilliant places, we stopped there, laughed, snapped pics, and carried with out journey. Then began the hard part. Till now roads were good, plain, now the hills were starting, with all their dangerous steeps and turns, my first experience was supposed to excite me, so it did, also causing fear to rise in the back of my head.

My first turn was unexpected. It was a plain road, a blind turn, and when I turned slowly, I say a steep road ahead. I wasn’t sure about how to proceed. I was slow, and if my bike would’ve stopped, I’d have surely lost control on it. I suddenly switched gears, and tugged on the accelerator. I am lucky that my beast is always ready to take me to new heights of excitement. So it did. I climbed easily and the first turn gave me confidence to carry on with the rest of the trip.

There were more such turns, but I was mentally prepared for them, and knew how to carry on. It helped, we were through. And when we reached there, my jaws dropped at the beauty that was in front of me. I was on top of Lavasa hills, watching down the void that can succumb anything that falls into it. There were clouds in front of me, and the distant villages that were as small as a toddlers toys. The view was mesmerizing and I can not do a justification to it by writing about it.

Jpeg Jpeg Jpeg

We moved on, to the next point. The ride was easy and hard. There was ups and downs. Normal turn and blind turns. Normal slopes and steep ones, mixed with blind turn, and tight turns. The adrenaline was rushing, with every turn, knowing that I’ll do just fine, and I was loving every moment of it. When I saw down, from the side of the road, I realized I am at a very high spot, for a moment I was afraid, then I was not.

The next point brought us at a beautiful point from where we were able to see the lake below us, and the village and the bridge over that lake. I thought that is all, the trip is over. It couldn’t be better.

Jpeg Jpeg

And I was wrong.

After this point, we started descending to reach lavasa. The place is beyond beautiful. Be it the lake, or the bridge, or the way they have created houses above the hills. I loved everything that I saw. We then parked our bikes, and started walking. The sites were brilliant. It felt like that have created a small Venice in Lavasa. It felt like I wasn’t in India anymore, and was in some distant country, living a dream.

The pavements were beautiful, so was the lake, the people, and laughter, the shops, the houses. It all looked so beautiful, so perfect. I am going to be honest. I didn’t want to come back. And if I had options, I would have stayed there, but I couldn’t. We spent next few hours there. Walking, chatting, enjoying the view. And then finally, we started our return journey.

I knew it won’t be easy, it wasn’t. The turns and slopes that gave me issue while going up were far more dangerous while coming down. My bike was riding at 60 kmph, when I was pushing the brakes every few seconds and not even using the accelerator. I was able to control the bike though, and we came back, down, safely. I just loved the experience.

Now that I’ve tasted the blood for the first time, I want more of it. Maybe this will be the start of things. Things that I wanted to do since long. Maybe this will justify the reason I chose Pune to be the place I wanted to be at. Maybe it won’t. But I am sure as hell that I am about to enjoy my stay here.

What’s next is the planning for the next trip. And the execution. I’ve a goofy smile on my face while writing this. It haven’t happened recently, and I can surely say, I’m happy, at peace, and am sure my bike is happy too. We both needed this trip, and we will have more in future, soon.

About Manish Jain

I'm a wanderer in search of solace which has long eluded me.
This entry was posted in Travellogue and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

