Everything is addictive – Part 1

It used to be music, and only music that I was into. Trying different artists and bands, different genres, different styles was a way of life. I could have spent hours and days just discussing my love for music with anyone, or without talking to anyone, only consumed by music.

It started slow, with curiosity leading to new bands and things to be heard, discovered, intrigue and excite me. Then it exploded, and I became more of a collector, than a listener. Downloading every damn artist I will hear about on the internet. Not downloading a single song or album, but downloading the entire discographies, GBs and GBs of data, that is still in my HD, never been heard, or tried.

Yes, in the process I did learn a lot more about music, and my personal taste – which varies from soothing melodic acoustics, to post-grunge and pschydelic metal, some great bands and songs were found which became and still are my go to songs, but it was a never ending process.

I started spending more time experimenting and less time enjoying my favorite music, which was odd. Wasn’t the whole purpose of the exercise to find the type of music that you love and enjoy? If you’re not doing that, than it was, all pointless, in a way or the other.

I still have a set of selected songs, that I mostly like listening to, and that is more fun than going through thousands of them, without enjoying listening to them.

Eventually, I think I have addiction problems. It’s not just music, I have seen the same in my other hobbies too, which have turned into addictions, and I can be described as someone who enjoy’s collecting more than consuming. More on that in next post.

About Manish Jain

I'm a wanderer in search of solace which has long eluded me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment